The popular styles of Okinawan karate of the time: Shōrei-ryū and Shōrin-ryū, which both Gichin Funakoshi trained in.
Combined, Shōrei-ryū and Shōrin-ryū would later become the art of Shotokan Karate.
Funakoshi has never named his style, but having always referring to it as simply "karate".
In time Funakoshi had changed a few of the Kata names to make the names easier to say in the Japanese Honshū dialect.
Funakoshi, in 1924, adopted the uniform (keikogi) and the Kyū / Dan rank system.
To indicate rank, the system used colored belts (obi).
Karate, originally had only 3 belt colors: black, brown, and white (with ranks within each).
Some Shotokan Schools still use the original belt system:
  • 8th rising to 4th kyū: white
  • 3rd rising to 1st kyū: brown
  • 1st and higher dan: black
Funakoshi awarded the first 1st dan (初段; shodan) Shotokan karate ranks to Hironori Ōtsuka (Otsuka), Shinyō Kasuya, Tokuda, Shimizu, Hirose, Makoto Gima, and Akiba on 10 April 1924.
The first official dojo, built by Funakoshi was named Shotokan in 1939 at Mejiro, and allied bombing the result of distruction in 1945.
Shotokan is named after Funakoshi's pen-name, Shoto (松濤, Shōtō), meaning "pine-waves" or "wind in the pine" (the movement of pine needles when the wind blows through them) which he used in his philosophical and poetic messages and writings to his students.
Kanv (館, kan) in Japanese means "training house" or "hall". 
Funakoshi's students created a sign reading shōtō-kan, in honor of their sensei, and placed it above the entrance of the Dojo or Hall where Funakoshi taught.
Gichin Funakoshi is widely recognized as having brought karate from Okinawa to mainland Japan.
Shotokan is one of five traditional karate styles
1. Shotokan
2. Gojo-Ryu
3. Shito-Ryu
4. Shorin-Ryu
5. Wado-Ryu